March 10, 2005.

that dark night.

when my grandfather died, it was the first time i saw my mother turn to my father for support.

it was the first time i saw him hold her, really hold her, with care and concern.

the first time, and the only time, i ever saw them engaged in an embrace motivated by love.

it was twelve years ago, but i remember it everyday like it happened yesterday.
i remember how, on that dark night, my mud stained mother came and stood in the middle of the lounge.
how she suddenly and without explanation burst into tears.
how she, through her loud and indistinguishable sobs somehow explained that her father was dead.

and how my father held her for so long while she cried into his shoulder.

and it is sad that when my grandmother died, my mother could not offer my father the same support.


[ look back ] [ look forward ]

[ then ] [ now ]

<3